Posted by: chasinghisheart | March 15, 2009

It’s All On Your Face!!!

I spend a lot of time driving for my business. I notice there a lot of other people who are driving as well. I started watching the faces of  those people today. What I saw took me by surprise.

Most everyone I saw had a frown on their face. I saw little to no joy. I wondered if it was a fluke so I continue to take note for the next couple of hours. I still only counted 5 people out of 200 that had a smile on their face.

I then made a startling discovery. I looked in my rear view mirror. I was not smiling either! I was just like all those others! I decided to smile the rest of my 2 hours home.

I found it is very hard to smile continually! I had to really concentrate on doing it. I also found that I had to find great thoughts to keep me smiling or else it just looked fake.

I also realized that as people looked over at a smiling person, they, about 90% of the time, also smiled. It was a happy day when I felt I had made a change in the world!

Until….

I got to thinking about home. What face does my husband see? Does he see a smiling, joyful face or a frown?

I know what he sees out in the world because I just described it above!

God has used this to point out to me that I need to make an effort to be joyful and happy in my home. Especially for the man I honor and love.

So I am smiling.

Guess what?

I get smiles back too! (And an occasional wink!)

Psalm 31:16  Smile on me. Save me with your mercy.

Who knew that a simple smile could deepen the chase after my husband’s heart?

Chasing His Heart,

Glenda Johnson


Leave a comment

Categories